Team

Lukas Schmidt, M.Sc.

Lukas Schmidt

has been working as a Research Associate at ewi ER&S and as a doctoral candidate at the Institute of Energy Economics (EWI) at the University of Cologne since 2016. In consulting projects for clients from the industry and public sectors, he has analyzed, e.g., the depiction of stochastics in the modeling of energy systems and sector coupling. He has advised, among others, the German Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) as well as the Ministry for Economy, Innovation, Digitalization and Energy of North Rhine-Westphalia (MWIDE). His research focus lies in the field of market integration of renewable energy, sector coupling and the modeling of energy systems. Before joining ewi ER&S, Lukas Schmidt studied Industrial Engineering at RWTH Aachen (Germany) and Aalto University Helsinki (Finland).

Contact
+49 (0)221 277 29-325
Curriculum Vitae

Studies

Client: GIZ

Workshop „Long-term Electricity System Planning“ for the Moroccan research pool ESMA

In the frame of this project funded by GIZ Morocco, ewi ER&S prepared and held a capacity-building workshop for Moroccan professors and members of the ministry of energy with the title “Introduction To Long-term Electricity System Planning“. The workshop was part of a study-trip by the Moroccan Research-Pool „Energy Systems Modeling and Analysis (ESMA)“. The goal of the Research-Pool ESMA and GIZ Morocco is to foster a local energy-system modeling community in order to support the political decision making process for the Moroccan energy transition and decarbonization pathway based on local competence. The workshop consisted of modules on different modeling techniques for investment and dispatch models in the energy sector, on scenario definition and interpretation as well as on the political decision making processes based on modeling studies.

Client: Ministry of Economy, Innovation, Digitalization and Energy of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia (MWIDE)

Cost-efficient realization of sector coupling

The study examines options for a medium-term and long-term attainment of German goals for the reduction of greenhouse gases by 2050. The focus lies on finding cost-optimal development pathes in the energy consumption sectors of buildings, transportation, industry and in the energy sector. The study finds that a technology-open approach is to be preferred to an extensive electrification of the consumption sectors. In addition, the German climate goals are classified into the European context, incentive structures are analyzed from stakeholders’ pespectives, and recommendations for a further development of legal frame conditions are yielded. The study was commissioned by the Ministry of Economy, Innovation, Digitalization and Energy of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia (MWIDE). The ef.Ruhr GmbH is the cooperation partner for examining the implications on the electricity networks.

[Study (in German, short version)] [Study (in German, long version)]

Projects

Analysis of data-based business models
Study on cost-efficient realization of sector coupling
Research Network for the Development of New Methods in Energy-System Modelling
Development of Power Generation from coal-fired power plants in Europe
Determining long term stochastic revenues
Selling the model MORE

Team

Lukas Schmidt, M.Sc.

Lukas Schmidt

ist seit 2016 Research Associate bei ewi ER&S und Doktorand am Energiewirtschaftlichen Institut (EWI) an der Universität zu Köln. In Beratungsprojekten für Auftraggeber aus der Industrie und dem öffentlichen Sektor beschäftigte er sich beispielsweise mit der Abbildung von Stochastik in der Energiesystemmodellierung sowie der Sektorenkopplung. Er beriet u. a. das BMWi sowie das MWIDE des Landes NRW. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Marktintegration erneuerbarer Energien, Sektorenkopplung und Modellierung von Energiesystemen. Vor seiner Zeit bei ewi ER&S studierte Lukas Schmidt Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen an der RWTH Aachen und der Aalto University (Helsinki, Finnland).

Kontakt
+49 (0)221 277 29-325
Lebenslauf

Studien

Auftraggeber: GIZ

Workshop „Long-term Electricity System Planning“ für das marokkanische Forschungspool ESMA

Im Auftrag der GIZ Marokko veranstaltete ewi ER&S im Rahmen dieses Projekts einen Capacity-Building-Workshop für marokkanische Professorinnen und Professoren sowie Mitarbeiter des Energieministeriums in Marokko als Einführung in „Long-term Electricity System Planning“. Der Workshop fand im Rahmen einer Studienreise des marokkanischen Forschungs-Pools „Energy Systems Modeling and Analysis (ESMA)“ statt. Das Ziel des Pools ESMA und der GIZ Marokko ist es, in Marokko eine Energiesystemmodellierungs-Community aufzubauen, um den politischen Entscheidungsprozess zur langfristigen Planung der marokkanischen Energiewende und Dekarbonisierung mit lokaler Kompetenz zu unterstützen. Der Workshop beinhaltete Module zu verschiedenen Modellierungstechniken für Investment- und Dispatch-Modelle im Energiesektor, zur Szenariendefinition und -interpretation sowie zum politischen Entscheidungsprozess auf Basis von Modellierungs-Studien.

Auftraggeber: Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen (MWIDE)

Kosteneffiziente Umsetzung der Sektorenkopplung

Die Studie untersucht Optionen für eine mittel- und langfristige Erreichung der deutschen Klimaziele bis zum Jahr 2050. Im Fokus steht die Ermittlung kostenoptimaler Entwicklungspfade in den Endenergieverbrauchssektoren Gebäude, Verkehr, Industrie sowie im Sektor Energie. Die Untersuchung kommt zu dem Ergebnis, dass eine technologieoffene Herangehensweise einer weitgehenden Elektrifizierung der Verbrauchssektoren vorzuziehen ist. Ergänzend werden die deutschen Klimaziele in den europäischen Kontext eingeordnet, Anreizstrukturen aus Akteursperspektive analysiert sowie Handlungsempfehlungen für eine Weiterentwicklung rechtlicher Rahmenbedingungen erarbeitet. Die Untersuchung wurde im Auftrag des Ministeriums für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen erstellt. Unser Kooperationspartner für die Betrachtung der Implikationen auf Ebene der Stromnetze ist die ef.Ruhr GmbH.

Projekte

Support for the review of a corporate strategy
Analyse datenbasierter Geschäftsmodelle
Studie zur kosteneffizienten Umsetzung der Sektorenkopplung
Forschungsnetzwerk zur Entwicklung neuer Methoden der Energiesystem-Modellierung (4NEMO)
Entwicklung der Kohleverstromung in Europa
Langfristige stochastische Erlösermittlung
Verkauf des Modells MORE