Team

Alexander Polisadov, M.Sc.

Alexander Polisadov

has been working as a Research Associate and as a doctoral candidate at EWI since 2016. In consulting projects for clients from the industry and public sectors, he has analyzed, e.g., energy scenarios and economic effects of a German coal phase-out on the electricity market. He has advised, e.g., the Federal German Association for Brown Coal (DEBRIV) and the Energy Supplier Oberhausen (evo). His research focus lies in the field of analysis and modeling of electricity markets. Before joining EWI, Alexander Polisadov was an analyst at E.ON Germany and E.ON Russia and worked as an expert for the global power engineering company Power Machines. He completed his studies in Industrial Engineering at Saint-Petersburg State University of Economics (Russia) and Technical University of Applied Sciences Wildau (Germany).

Contact
+49 (0)221 - 277 29-202
Curriculum Vitae

Studies

Supported by the state of North Rhine-Westphalia

Final report of Virtuelles Institut Strom zu Gas und Wärme

The „Virtual Institute Power to Gas and Heat“ (Virtuelles Institut Strom zu Gas und Wärme – VI SGW) is a consortium of seven scientific and technical institutes funded by the state of North Rhine-Westphalia and by the Cluster EnergieForschung of EnergieAgentur.NRW, which together conduct research on flexibility options for the future power-gas-heating integrated system. Alongside in-depth research on innovative technology pathways and energy system transformations, the work presented also includes the construction of a demonstration facility at the “Gas und Wärme” Institute in Essen.
The Virtual Institute submitted the results of its work in five volumes. The Management Summary provides an overview of the results of the research that was carried out in the VI SGW project between 2015 to 2017. Since the results of the cooperation are extensive, the Management Summary is designed to aid the reader in understanding the structure of the analysis and allowing topics of interest to be quickly located within the five volumes. The five volumes of the final report are “Volume I: System and Location Analyses”; “Volume II: Analyses of Technology Pathways”; “Volume III: Accompanying Experimental Research”; “Volume IV: Appendix to Volumes I-III”; “Volume V: Technology Datasheets”.
ewi ER&S is a partner and co-coordinator of the Virtual Institute SGW project, coordinating and contributing to “Volume I: System and Location Analyses” as well as contributing to “Volume II: Analyses of Technology Pathways” and “Volume V: Technology Datasheets”.
The Management Summary and all volumes of the final report can be found on the project’s website via the external link below.

Client: ewi ER&S

Economic Impacts of a German Coal Phase-Out on the Power Markets in Germany and the EU

With the study „Economic Impacts of a German Coal Phase-Out on the Power Markets in Germany and the EU“, ewi ER&S takes up a proposal made by the German think tank Agora Energiewende in January 2016 concerning a coal phase-out in Germany. The proposal suggests a combination of two policy measures for the power sector. First, it encourages an early decommissioning of the German coal-fired power plants up to 2040 and, secondly, a retirement of emission allowances from the European emissions trading system in the amount of the mitigated CO2 emissions resulting from the coal phase-out. Based on ewi’s power market model DIMENSION, the study investigates the additional costs and distributional effects of this double-measure for the German and European power markets. The coal phase-out is assessed by economic theory and its projected costs are compared to the amount of CO2 abated.

Projects

Development of Power Generation from coal-fired power plants in Europe
Energy Scenarios for an Utility Company

Articles

Ökonomische Effekte eines deutschen Kohleausstiegs

Harald Hecking, Jürgen Kruse, Martin Paschmann, Alexander Polisadov, Theresa Wildgrube; 2016
In: et – Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Vol. 66 (11), pp. 27-29.
[Link]

Team

Alexander Polisadov, M.Sc.

Alexander Polisadov

ist seit 2016 bei ewi ER&S, zunächst als Research Analyst und jetzt als Research Associate. Zudem ist er seit 2016 Doktorand am Energiewirtschaftlichen Institut (EWI) an der Universität zu Köln. In Beratungsprojekten für Auftraggeber aus der Industrie und dem öffentlichen Sektor analysierte er beispielsweise Energieszenarien und ökonomische Effekte eines deutschen Kohleausstiegs auf den Strommarkt. Er beriet u. a. DEBRIV und die Energieversorgung Oberhausen. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in dem Bereich Analyse und Modellierung von Strommärkten. Zuvor war Alexander Polisadov als Analyst bei E.ON Deutschland und E.ON Russland und als Experte bei dem Energieanlagenbauunternehmen Power Machines tätig. Davor studierte er Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen an der Wirtschaftsuniversität St. Petersburg (Russland) und der TH Wildau (Brandenburg).

Kontakt
+49 (0)221 277 29-202
Lebenslauf

Studien

Förderer: Land Nordrhein-Westfalen

Abschlussbericht des Virtuellen Instituts NRW Strom zu Gas und Wärme

Das „Virtuelle Institut Strom zu Gas und Wärme“ (VI SGW) ist ein vom Land Nordrhein-Westfalen geförderter und vom Cluster EnergieForschung der EnergieAgentur.NRW unterstützter Forschungsverbund von sieben Forschungsinstituten, die gemeinsam Flexibilitätsoptionen für das zukünftige Strom-Gas-Wärme-System erforschen. Neben innovativen Technologiepfaden und Systemforschung zählt die Errichtung eines Demonstrationszentrums am Standort des GWI in Essen zum Umfang der hier vorgestellten Arbeiten.

Das Virtuelle Institut hat die Ergebnisse seiner Arbeit in fünf Bänden vorgelegt. Die Management Summary gibt einen Überblick über die Forschungsergebnisse, die im Hauptprojekt des VISGW in den Jahren 2015-2017 erarbeitet wurden. Da die Ergebnisse der Zusammenarbeit sehr vielfältig sind, dient diese Zusammenfassung dem Leser als Hilfestellung, um schneller die entsprechenden Themen in den fünf Bänden wieder zu finden. Die fünf Bände des Abschlussbericht sind: Band I: System- und Standortanalysen; Band II: Pfadanalysen; Band III: Experimentelle Begleitforschung; Band IV: Anhänge zu den Bänden I-III; Band V: Steckbrief-Sammlung.

ewi ER&S ist Partner und Ko-Koordinator des Virtuellen Instituts, hat den Band I „System- und Standortanalysen“ koordiniert und war maßgeblich an Band II „Pfadanalysen“ und an den Technologie-Steckbriefen in Band V beteiligt.

Die Management Summary sowie alle Bände des Abschlussberichtes stehen unter dem externen Link zum Download bereit.

Auftraggeber: ewi ER&S

Ökonomische Effekte eines deutschen Kohleausstiegs auf den Strommarkt in Deutschland und der EU

ewi ER&S greift mit der Studie „Ökonomische Effekte eines deutschen Kohleausstiegs auf den Strommarkt in Deutschland und der EU“ ein im Januar 2016 von Agora Energiewende veröffentlichtes Konzept zum Kohleausstieg in Deutschland auf. Der Agora-Vorschlag sieht eine vorzeitige Abschaltung aller deutschen Kohlekraftwerke bis 2040 sowie eine Stilllegung der durch den Kohleausstieg frei werdenden CO2-Zertifikate im europäischen Emissionshandelssystem vor. Auf Grundlage des ewi-Strommarktmodells DIMENSION werden die Mehrkosten und Verteilungseffekte dieser Doppelmaßnahme für den deutschen und europäischen Strommarkt berechnet. Der Kohleausstieg wird wirtschaftstheoretisch eingeordnet und seine projizierten Kosten zur erreichten Vermeidung von CO2-Emissionen ins Verhältnis gesetzt.

Projekte

Entwicklung der Kohleverstromung in Europa
Energieszenarien für ein Energieversorgungsunternehmen

Zeitschriften

Ökonomische Effekte eines deutschen Kohleausstiegs

Harald Hecking, Jürgen Kruse, Martin Paschmann, Alexander Polisadov, Theresa Wildgrube; 2016
In: et – Energiewirtschaftliche Tagesfragen, Vol. 66 (11), pp. 27-29.
[Link]